Casting a shadow.

Above the plot.

Man in the middle.

Went up to the allotment this morning to check if all was ok after a blustery night. Thankfully, everything was fine. On a whim, I decided to climb a nearby tree to get a bird’s eye shot of the plot. I was soon reminded of my youth, the danger and thrill of tree climbing, and how it is always harder to get down from a tree than it is to climb one. Can you see my shadow in the centre of the above photo?

Yes I did get down eventually (No, I am not blogging from the tree tops!)

While up in the tree I took some shots of these leaves blowing in the wind…

Time to go.

24 thoughts on “Casting a shadow.

  1. What a heavenly spot that looks like Val! The old gnarled trees, their shadows, the green green clumping grass, the dappled sun and your sweet garden! Would that I had an allotment and a tree above it to perch in! You are a lucky man, but I know you know this! 🙂 I’m so anxious to watch your garden grow!

    • Hi Spree, while you were commenting and liking (thanks very much), I managed to accidentally delete most of this post. 😦 Also, I was struggling to post the youtube clip, so I’m not sure if you saw it. Anyway, It’s all sorted now. 🙂

      • Ahh, Val, I caught your dancing leaves! Funny isn’t it that climbing a tall old tree isn’t scary but posting a minute long video IS? 🙂 loved it and hope you’ll do it again!!

  2. I saw it all 🙂 Lucky me! As always chasing to catch up to our adorable spree 🙂 You have an awesome allotment.. is it something you have on your land or something you rent or purchase?? I think it would be so much fun to have one and to be able to plant so much.. it’s huge! I loved your video.. it was fun, the leaves almost seemed to “bop” to your music!! Loved it!

    • That’s my 100 square metres in the first photo, which I rent from a local land-owner. You can see other plots further down the hill. The red tanker to the left is our water supply which comes from a well/pond on the land-owner’s farm. There are fifteen plots in total, twelve of which are rented out… so hurry up before they’re all gone! 🙂 Do you have allotments in Canada?
      Glad you liked the video, Barbara, it was fun (and a little bit scary) to make!

      • I know we have community gardens in a few cities.. and there’s a program to “borrow” backyards in different neighborhoods. I think the allotment would be fun because you’d see everyone there and you could decide how big or small you’d like it to be? Community gardens are really smaller raised beds in one area. Lucky you!!

  3. Stunning photos Val. I am so impressed with the allotment, your photos and this website (blogging site), not sure what you call it. Did you say you were free to come over soon to start on our’s?

  4. Hi Val. Ruth’s friend, Marie, from Co. Monaghan here. Love how great your allotment looks, so organised and productive already this year. I like to grow a few veg myself and never cease to be thrilled at what can come out of the ground from the smallest of seed. Look forward to your updates.

    • Hi Marie, thanks for dropping by! Apart from some no-show faba beans and sad sweet pea, I am thrilled that everything is growing so well, so far. The blog is a great way of keeping track of what has been planted and when. Please do visit again!

  5. Great Pics, haven’t climbed a tree in years, how exhilarating! Looks like your plot is in a lovely spot.

  6. The things we do for our allotment plots! ;
    It’s looking great, looks very private too. I haven’t been to my plot for a while, the rain hasn’t let up here. I’m sure the weeds are loving it though!

    • Yeah, it is quite private. It can’t be seen from the main road, so you don’t get self conscious about doing silly things, like climbing trees! Not getting too much rain here in Bray, but we did have a waterspout last Friday morning…

      That’s Bray Head in the clip and the allotments are about 2km on the other side of it!

      • Crop rotation is important. Different crops take different nutrition from the soil, so by rotating the crops the soil gets a break. Composting of the discarded stuff is good too. Being natural fertilizer means the soil is not artificially overworked which then means you can gauge how healthy the soil is. Soil that has been “overfed” with commercial chemicals it takes at least four years to return to their natural levels, so it is best to keep it balanced in the first place. A well drained patch too will allow excess nutrients to wash away.

      • Thanks, Warren. I’m on track with most of these suggestions. I plan to grow green manures also, and will soon build a compost enclosure.

  7. Hi Val – It’s looking great! just to say your previous blog about your excellent Rainwater Collection Thingy has earnt a mention in my latest allotment update, How to grow your own water – thanks for the inspiration!

    • Thanks for the mention, DiggityD! The RCT is almost complete and I can’t wait for it to lash rain so I can post some pics of it in action.

Leave a Reply

