Is it a bird, is it a plane, no, it’s a …

…Rainwater Collection Thingy in the making.

Digging the plot has provided me with a mound of weeds and sods. As this mound grew larger over the months I wondered how I could utilise it. So a cunning plan came to mind… mould it into an Rainwater Collection Thingy (RCT). Having gathered some used pallets from the local tile shop over the last week, I was ready to get started. 

Using a staple gun, I covered the flatter side of each of the pallets with some dark plastic sheeting I had lying around and then fenced off the mound with the pallets, plastic side facing in. I used wooden stakes to keep the pallets in place. All I need to do now is cover the mound with more plastic to block out the light, and come up with a way of getting the rain to flow into the barrel. Total cost: Nothing but time and a few brain cells!

Apart from being a thing of beauty, the RCT has one other known purpose… to turn the mound of sods and weeds into a loamy soil that can be used in years to come.

I also managed to plant my ‘Charlotte’ second early potatoes. Another good days work!

Pallets waiting to be useful.

Charlotte’s ready to go.

14 thoughts on “Is it a bird, is it a plane, no, it’s a …

  1. With you on the Charlottes and next weekend the Mairis Pipers will be buried. Compost construction looks impressive – are you doing the three on a yearly cycle? I’ve never gotten further than 2! Too impatient and want the compost to do its work too fast!

    • Charlottes seem to be very popular this year, amongst bloggers at least. I’ll be waiting till Easter to plant my main crop potatoes. The RCT will just be covered and forgotten about for a year at least. I have yet to construct a compost bin/bins… it’s on my to do list!

  2. Now that’s clever! I’m sure the RCT will be a very useful addition to your plot, for years to come. Another Charlotte fan I see!

  3. That’s a good way to deal with the weeds, I do something similar (minus the rainwater collection thingy) for composting my weeds, it just takes time and lack of light and then you have lovely compost/soil for the garden 🙂

    • Yes, I tried it before without the RCT and it produced some lovely soil. I really need an independent source of water though, and this seemed an obvious solution, using the natural slope of the plot. Thanks for visiting!

  4. just stumbled across your blog, Think its great and some wonderful photography too, i have added you to my blogroll so i can keep up to date!

Leave a Reply

