Posterized Potatoes.

Epicure, first earlies… kitchen window sill.

Yes, it’s chitting time! These potatoes should have been on the window sills a couple of weeks ago (when I bought the seeds) but I left them in the boot of the car for a week, and then on the hall floor for another week. They appear to be chitting away happily despite this negligence. There is a little bit of mould here and there, no doubt from being left in the packaging for so long, in the hot car boot.

They are on the window sills now, waiting to be interred on Paddy’s Day. I have three varieties at the moment, Charlotte (second earlies), Epicure (first earlies) and Kerr Pinks (main crop). I will probably try one more main crop variety, without chitting, to see if it makes any difference.

I tried to take some half decent photos but was unhappy with the results, so I added a ‘posterizing’ effect in Photoshop. It’s actually the ‘Cutout’ filter but I think ‘Posterized Potatoes’ makes for a better title.

Charlotte, second earlies… bedroom window sill.

Charlotte… landing window sill.

Charlotte… bedroom window sill.

8 thoughts on “Posterized Potatoes.

  1. Very photogenic chitters! Am also on the Charlotte root plus Rattes (delicious) and Maris Pipers. Made silly error of leaving them still in the bag they came in (perforated) but they got damp nevertheless in the allotment shed and I lost a few – stupid. Anyway all sitting up proud in the egg boxes and also awaiting St P’s day – a Sunday this year!

    • I leave the potatoes in the car every year, it’s like a tradition at this stage. BTW my calendar says Paddy’s Day is on a Saturday… it’s still the weekend, so that’s handy.

  2. Great photos…! I really liked the 2nd and the 3rd!
    Looks like we were fascinated by the vegetables around the same time! Haha. 😀

  3. Very nice images there. The posterize effect adds a nice slant. This post has kick-started our potato energy. Well, I saw the post and thought ‘sh*t, I should have been started weeks ago!’ : )

Leave a Reply

